Welcome to
the Arcatella website!

Arcatella – that means bright, spacious rooms in an exceptional, listed group of buildings, bordering the historic village center of Casorzo to the south, and passing directly into the UNESCO World Heritage Site declared landscape of the Monferrato to the north.

The two upper floors house four wide suites, two of them with carefully equipped kitchen and all four with a private south-facing loggia. On the ground floor, the breakfast room, the bistro and the library, outside the arcade with the adjacent small piazza with the charming garden, invite you to relax.

Casorzo, like almost all the neighboring villages, is located on the crest of one of the innumerable gentle hills of the Monferrato. Arcatella, one of the highest and most prominent houses in the village, enjoys a breathtaking panoramic view.

Despite the dreamlike retreat in an intact and varied landscape, from Casorzo you can reach all culinary, cultural, sporting or tourist destinations in a short time.

Covid info

Since June 15, 2022: almost all restrictions have been lifted. Of course we recommend vaccination with booster and we keep enough FFP2 masks and saliva tests ready (just in case). Here you can find all the details about entry and covid rules in Italy: Re-open EU

Sigle

Location

How to find us

From the north
Via the A26 (Gravellona Toce/Genova), exit Casale sud, direction Alessandria/Asti, San Germano, Roncaglia, Vignale, Casorzo

From the west/east/south
Via the A21 (Torino/Piacenza), exit Asti est, direction Casale, Castel’Alfero, Calliano, Grana, Casorzo

Nearest railway stations:
Casale, Asti, Alessandria

Nearest airports
Torino Caselle, Milano Malpensa

The group of buildings

Il Cottolengo, as the local people call the property, consists of three buildings: the “Piccola Casa della Divina Provvidenza”, the former home for the needy and elderly run by nuns (1884 to 1984) and today the guesthouse Arcatella with a small piazza and a charming garden in front of it. It also consists of a tuff and brick gatehouse with a thoroughly renovated 4-room apartment, a large portico and an equally spacious hayloft, as well as the Event House, a large, simple building with a single, wide room with a domed ceiling and a cellar just as large. It served the community in its long history as a schoolhouse, cinema and meeting hall, among other things. The main entrance of the property is adjacent to the central Piazza Verdi in the historic village center.

We will probably offer the gatehouse as a vacation home in the next few years. The Event House – once it has been renovated – will be primarily offered for cultural events, courses and seminars. We also already have a few ideas for the large space between the latter two buildings …

Just behind the guesthouse we were able to acquire a large plot of land, on whose 70 acres there is a parking lot for about 10 cars and a slightly sloping meadow with fruit trees and a reedy wilderness. Here, during the lockdown, we created a walkway and built an arbor out of the former iron door portals, with a bench that invites you to linger. A large yoga platform will be added shortly. A beautiful place with a view over the countless hills of Monferrato to the French and Swiss Alps.

The main building

We have carefully and thoroughly renovated the two-story main house, a former home for the needy and elderly with an amazing and impressive history. It consists of a smaller part, just over 200 years old, which houses our private rooms, and a large annex, about 120 years old, with arcades and a large loggia for each suite.

The house has underfloor heating in all rooms, an elevator, floor heights of 3.40m and very thick, solid walls that make air conditioning unnecessary. The hot water is prepared by means of solar energy. Proper internet (100/20 MBit/s), satellite TV via WLAN (Astra 19.2E), integrated USB chargers and Schuko Type-F sockets everywhere are part of the technical equipment, among other things.

On the ground floor there is the reception, a sideboard, the spacious breakfast room, a WC and the library with a large TV, internet access point, many books, audio books and DVDs. In the arcade there are shady, sheltered seats, on the piazza, in front of it, tables under overhanging umbrellas for breakfast and aperitivo and in the adjoining garden you can perfectly relax.

A bright staircase with elevator connects all floors and opens into the wide corridors in front of the rooms. Here, too, there is plenty of books and a breathtaking view of the north of the Monferrato.

In the basement are our workshop, the laundry, the exit to a huge cellar (which is still waiting for its final destination…) and the exit to the in-house parking spaces at the end of the cul-de-sac that leads behind the guest house. There is also our large meadow with walking path, arbor and places to linger and enjoy.

Our 11 kW AC charging port for electric cars (type 2, without cable) is available in the parking lot!

outside ...

indoors ...

The rooms

Limone

1st floor ~ Bed&Breakfast ~ Living area 49m2 (including 9m2 bathroom) ~ Loggia 18m2

Living/sleeping area: double bed 180x200cm ~ desk ~ sofa ~ bookcase ~ closet ~ wardrobe
Bathroom: large shower ~ washbasin ~ WC ~ bidet ~ large shelves
Loggia: table and chairs ~ couches with blankets ~ cushions ~ side table and parasol
Service: Internet via WLAN and cable connection ~ SAT>IP server (Astra) ~ USB charging sockets ~ coffee maker ~ kettle ~ quiet ceiling fan ~ hair dryer

Menta

1st floor ~ Contry House ~ Living area 58m2 (of which 11m2 kitchen and 7m2 bathroom) ~ Loggia 18m2
Living/sleeping area: double bed 160x200cm ~ desk ~ sofa ~ bookcase ~ closet ~ wardrobe
Bathroom: large shower ~ washbasin ~ WC ~, bidet ~ large shelves
Kitchen: induction stove ~ oven ~ refrigerator ~ dishwasher ~ blender ~ toaster ~ generously equipped
Loggia: table and chairs ~ couches with blankets ~ cushions ~ side table and parasol
Service: Internet via WLAN and cable connection ~ SAT>IP server (Astra) ~ USB charging sockets ~ coffee maker ~ kettle ~ quiet ceiling fan ~ hair dryer

Senape

2nd floor ~ Bed&Breakfast ~ Living area 49m2 (including 9m2 bathroom) ~ Loggia 18m2
Living/sleeping area: double bed 180x200cm ~ desk ~ sofa ~ bookcase ~ closet ~ wardrobe
Bathroom: large shower ~ washbasin ~ WC ~ bidet ~ large shelves
Loggia: table and chairs ~ couches with blankets ~ cushions ~ side table and parasol
Service: Internet via WLAN and cable connection ~ SAT>IP server (Astra) ~ USB charging sockets ~ coffee maker ~ kettle ~ quiet ceiling fan ~ hair dryer

Melagrana

2nd floor ~ Contry House ~ Living area 58m2 (of which 11m2 kitchen and 7m2 bathroom) ~ Loggia 18m2

Living/sleeping area: double bed 160x200cm ~ desk ~ sofa ~ bookcase ~ closet ~ wardrobe
Bathroom: large shower ~ washbasin ~ WC ~, bidet ~ large shelves
Kitchen: induction stove ~ oven ~ refrigerator ~ dishwasher ~ blender ~ toaster ~ generously equipped
Loggia: table and chairs ~ couches with blankets ~ cushions ~ side table and parasol
Service: Internet via WLAN and cable connection ~ SAT>IP server (Astra) ~ USB charging sockets ~ coffee maker ~ kettle ~ quiet ceiling fan ~ hair dryer

Loggia

Each suite has a private south-facing loggia of 18 square meters.

Prices & Info

  • General conditions

    Covid-19: Since June 15, 2022: Almost all restrictions have been lifted. Of course we recommend vaccination with booster and we keep enough FFP2 masks and saliva tests ready (just in case).
    Here you can find all the details about entry and covid rules in Italy: Re-open EUpen EU


    Reservations please by phone, mail or our Booking request

    No deposit is required for reservations. For cancellations 2 weeks before the start of the stay, half the rental fee will be charged, for cancellations 1 week before the start of the stay, the full rental fee will be charged.

    Minimum stay is 3 nights

    Smaller, well-behaved four-legged friends are welcome and pay € 5.-/night

    When using the charging station for electric vehicles we charge 0.35 €/kWh

    Please check out by 11:00 a.m., check in from 3:00 p.m. - unless otherwise agreed

    Means of payment: the usual credit cards, debit cards, Bancomat, PayPal, cash (only up to € 999.-!)


    Services

    The suites are cleaned on request and by previous arrangement. Please remember to keep the kitchen tidy yourself.

    Bed linen is changed weekly, on request also twice a week

    Linen in the bathroom and kitchen is changed weekly, or more often if desired (max. three times a week).

    If you have a request or a problem, talk to us. We will find a good solution for everything!

    Useful further information can be downloaded here!

  • Parking, Internet access and breakfast included (Bed&Breakfast)

    For one person per night
    € 100.-

    For two persons per night
    € 120.-

  • Parking, Internet access included. The suites have a kitchen

    For one person per night
    € 120.-

    For two persons per night

    € 140.-

    Breakfast (on advance booking) € 10.- per person

About us

We, Doris Wetter and Mattia Raschèr, fell hopelessly in love with this part of Italy during a first visit to Piedmont in 1990.

In 2005, we broke down our Swiss tents, hit the pegs for good in Bel Paese and from then on we looked after the customers of our small IT company from here. In addition, with the renovation and rental of two very special vacation apartments in Monferrato, we have ventured into an exciting new activity.

With a great desire for more, in 2014 – in the meantime we had become citizens of our adopted country – we started our last big project: the renovation of the guesthouse Arcatellawhich was completed almost in time for our retirement!

Herzlich Willkommen
auf der Arcatella-Webseite

Arcatella – das sind helle, grosszügige Räume in einer  aussergewöhnlichen, denkmalgeschützten Liegenschaft, die im Süden an den historischen Dorfkern von Casorzo grenzt und im Norden direkt in die von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärten Landschaft des Monferrato übergeht.

In den zwei oberen Stockwerken sind vier weite Suiten untergebracht, zwei davon mit sorgfältig ausgestatteter Küche und alle vier mit einer privaten, nach Süden orientierten Loggia. Im Erdgeschoss laden der Frühstücksraum, das Bistro und die Bibliothek, draussen die Arkade mit der angrenzenden kleinen Piazza, an die sich der Garten schmiegt, zum entspannten Verweilen ein.

Casorzo liegt, wie fast alle Nachbargemeinden, auf der Kuppe von einem der unzähligen sanften Hügel des Monferrato. Arcatella, eins der höchsten und höchstgelegenen Häuser der Gemeinde, geniesst da einen atemberaubenden Panoramablick.

Trotz traumhafter Abgeschiedenheit in einer intakten und abwechslungsreichen Landschaft erreichen Sie von Casorzo aus alle kulinarischen, kulturellen, sportllichen oder touristischen Ziele in kurzer Zeit.

Covid-Info

Seit 15. Juni 2022: Fast alle Beschränkungen sind aufgerhoben. Wir empfehlen natürlich Impfung mit Booster und halten – für alle Fälle – genügend FFP2-Masken und Spucktests bereit! Hier finden Sie alle Details zu Einreise und Covid-Regeln in Italien: Re-open EU

Sigle

Lage

Anfahrt

Anfahrt von Norden:
Über die A26 (Gravellona Toce/Genova), Ausfahrt Casale sud, Richtung Alessandria/Asti, San Germano, Roncaglia, Vignale, Casorzo

Anfahrt von Westen/Osten/Süden
Über die A21 (Torino/Piacenza), Ausfahrt Asti est, Richtung Casale, Castel’Alfero, Calliano, Grana, Casorzo

Nächste Bahnhöfe:
Casale, Asti, Alessandria

Nächste Flughäfen
Torino Caselle, Milano Malpensa

Liegenschaft

Il Cottolengo, wie die Einheimischen die Liegenschaft nennen, besteht aus drei Gebäuden: der „Piccola Casa della Divina Provvidenza“, das ehemalige von Nonnen geführte Heim für bedürftige und alte Menschen (1884 bis 1984) und heute das Gästehaus Arcatella mit einer kleinen Piazza und einem Park davor. Ferner aus einem aus Tuff- und Ziegelstein erbauten Pförtnerhaus mit gründlich renovierter 4-Zimmer Wohnung, einem grossen Portico und einer ebenso geräumigen Heudiele, sowie dem Eventhaus, ein grosses, schlichtes Gebäude mit einem einzigen, weiten Raum mit Kuppeldecke und einem ebensolchen Keller. Es diente der Gemeinde in seiner langen Geschichte unter anderem als Schulhaus, Kino und Versammlungssaal. Der Haupteingang der Liegenschaft grenzt an die zentrale Piazza Verdi im alten Dorfkern.
 

Das Pförtnerhaus werden wir in den nächsten Jahren wohl als Ferienwohnung anbieten. Das Eventhaus nutzen wir – wenn es dereinst renoviert ist – vorwiegend für kulturelle Events, Kurse und Seminare. Auch für den grossen Platz zwischen den beiden letztgenannten Gebäuden haben wir bereits ein paar Ideen …

Gleich hinter dem Gästehaus konnten wir ein grosses Grundstück erwerben, auf dessen 70 Aren sich ein Parkplatz für gut 10 Autos und eine leicht abschüssige Wiese mit Fruchtbäumen und einer schilfbestandenen Wildnis befinden. Hier haben wir während des Lockdowns einen Spazierweg angelegt und eine Laube aus den ehemaligen eisernen Türportalen gebaut, in deren innerem Schnittpunkt eine Bank zum Verweilen einlädt. In Kürze kommt noch eine grosse Yogaplattform hinzu. Ein wunderschöner Platz mit Blick über die unzähligen Hügel des Monferrato bis in die Französischen und Schweizer Alpen.

Das Haus

Das zweistöckige Haupthaus, ein ehemaliges Heim für bedürftige und alte Menschen mit einer erstaunlichen und beeindruckenden Geschichte, haben wir in den letzten Jahren behutsam und gründlich renoviert. Es besteht aus einem gut 200jährigen kleineren Teil, der unsere privaten Räume beherbergt, und einem grossen, etwa 120jährigen Anbau mit Arkaden und je einer grossen Loggia für jede Suite.

Das Haus verfügt in allen Räumen über eine Bodenheizung, einen Lift, Geschosshöhen von 3.40m und sehr dicken, soliden Mauern, die eine Klimatisierung erübrigen. Das Warmwasser wird mittels Solar-Energie aufbereitet. Ordentliches Internet (100/20 MBit/s), SAT-TV übers WLAN (Astra 19.2E), integrierte USB-Ladegeräte und überall Schuko-Steckdosen gehören u.a. zum technischen Outfit.

Im Erdgeschoss befinden sich der Empfang, eine Anrichte, der grosszügige Frühstücksraum, ein WC und die Bibliothek mit grossem Fernseher, Internet-Accesspoint, vielen Büchern, Hörbüchern und DVDs. In der Arkade gibt es schattige, geschützte Sitzplätze, auf der Piazza davor Tische unter ausladenden Sonnenschirmen für Frühstück und Aperitivo und im anschliessenden Garten kann man trefflich die Seele baumeln lassen.

Ein helles Treppenhaus mit Lift verbindet alle Geschosse und mündet in die weiten Gänge vor den Zimmern. Auch hier gibt es jede Menge Lesestoff und einen atemberaubenden Ausblick in den Norden des Monferrato.

Im Untergeschoss befinden sich unsere Werkstatt, die Wäscherei, der Abgang zu einem riesigen Keller (der noch auf seine endgültige Bestimmung wartet…) und der Ausgang zu den hauseigenen Parkplätzen am Ende der Sackgasse, die hinter das Gästehaus führt. Da schliesst sich auch unsere grosse Wiese mit Spazierweg, Laube und Plätze zum Verweilen und Geniessen an.

Auf dem Parkplatz steht unser 11 kW AC Ladeanschluss für Elektroautos (Typ 2, ohne Kabel) zur Verfügung!

draussen ...

drinnen ...

Die Zimmer

Limone

1. Etage ~ Bed&Breakfast ~ Wohnfläche 49m2 (davon 9m2 Bad) ~ Loggia 18m2

 
Wohn-/Schlafbereich: Doppelbett 180x200cm ~ Schreibtisch ~ Sofa ~ Büchernische ~ Schrank ~ Garderobe
Bad: grosse Dusche ~ Waschtisch ~ WC ~ Bidet ~ grosse Ablageflächen
Loggia: Tisch und Stühle ~ Liegen mit Decken ~ Kissen ~ Beistelltisch und Sonnenschirm
Service: Internet über WLAN und Kabelanschluss ~ SAT>IP-Server (Astra) ~ USB Ladebuchsen ~ Kaffemaschine ~ Wasserkocher ~ leiser Deckenventilator ~ Haartrockner

Menta

1. Etage ~ Contry House ~ Wohnfläche 58m2 (davon 11m2 Küche und 7m2 Bad) ~ Loggia 18m2
 
Wohn-/Schlafbereich: Doppelbett 160x200cm ~ Schreibtisch ~ Sofa ~ Büchergestell ~ Schrank ~ Garderobe
Bad: grosse Dusche ~ Waschtisch ~ WC ~, Bidet ~ grosse Ablageflächen
Küche: Induktionsherd ~ Backofen ~ Kühlschrank ~ Abwaschmaschine ~ Stabmixer ~ Toaster ~ grossügig ausgestattet
Loggia: Tisch und Stühle ~ Liegen mit Decken ~ Kissen ~ Beistelltisch und Sonnenschirm
Service: Internet über WLAN und Kabelanschluss ~ SAT>IP-Server (Astra) ~ USB Ladebuchsen ~ Kaffemaschine ~ Wasserkocher ~ leiser Deckenventilator ~ Haartrockner

 

Senape

2. Etage ~ Bed&Breakfast ~ Wohnfläche 49m2 (davon 9m2 Bad) ~ Loggia 18m2
 
Wohn-/Schlafbereich: Doppelbett 180x200cm ~ Schreibtisch ~ Sofa ~ Büchernische ~ Schrank ~ Garderobe
Bad: grosse Dusche ~ Waschtisch ~ WC ~ Bidet ~ grosse Ablageflächen
Loggia: Tisch und Stühle ~ Liegen mit Decken ~ Kissen ~ Beistelltisch und Sonnenschirm
Service: Internet über WLAN und Kabelanschluss ~ SAT>IP-Server (Astra) ~ USB Ladebuchsen ~ Kaffemaschine ~ Wasserkocher ~ leiser Deckenventilator ~ Haartrockner

Melagrana

2. Etage ~ Contry House ~ Wohnfläche 58m2 (davon 11m2 Küche und 7m2 Bad) ~ Loggia 18m2

 
Wohn-/Schlafbereich: Doppelbett 160x200cm ~ Schreibtisch ~ Sofa ~ Büchergestell ~ Schrank ~ Garderobe
Bad: grosse Dusche ~ Waschtisch ~ WC ~, Bidet ~ grosse Ablageflächen
Küche: Induktionsherd ~ Backofen ~ Kühlschrank ~ Abwaschmaschine ~ Stabmixer ~ Toaster ~ grossügig ausgestattet
Loggia: Tisch und Stühle ~ Liegen mit Decken ~ Kissen ~ Beistelltisch und Sonnenschirm
Service: Internet über WLAN und Kabelanschluss ~ SAT>IP-Server (Astra) ~ USB Ladebuchsen ~ Kaffemaschine ~ Wasserkocher ~ leiser Deckenventilator ~ Haartrockner

 

Loggia

Jede Suite verfügt über eine private, nach Süden ausgerichtete Loggia von 18 Quadratmetern.

Preise & Infos

  • Allgemeine Bedingungen

    Covid-19: Seit 15. Juni 2022: Fast alle Beschränkungen sind aufgehoben. Wir empfehlen natürlich Impfung mit Booster und halten - für alle Fälle - genügend FFP2-Masken und Spucktests bereit!
    Hier finden Sie alle Details zu Einreise und Covid-Regeln in Italien: Re-open EUpen EU


    Reservierungen bitte per Telefon,  Mail oder unsere Buchungsanfrage

    Bei Reservierung fällt keine Anzahlung an. Für Absagen 2 Wochen vor Mietbeginn fällt der halbe, bei 1 Woche vor Mietbeginn der ganze Mietbetrag an

    Mindestmietdauer sind 3 Nächte

    Kleinere, gut erzogene Vierbeiner sind Willkommen und zahlen € 5.-/Nacht

    Bei Nutzung der Ladestation für Elektrofahrzeuge berechnen wir 0.35 €/kWh

    Abreise bitte bis 11:00 Uhr, Bezug der Suiten ab 15:00 Uhr - ausgenommen abweichende individuelle Vereinbarungen

    Zahlungsmittel: die üblichen Kreditkarten, Debitkarten, Bancomat, PayPal, Bargeld (nur bis € 999.-!)


    Services

    Die Suiten werden auf Wunsch und nach Absprache sauber gemacht. Für die Ordnung in der Küche sind Sie bitte selber besorgt

    Die Bettwäsche wird wöchentlich gewechselt, auf Wunsch auch zweimal die Woche

    Die Wäsche in Bad und Küche wird wöchentlich gewechselt, auf Wunsch auch öfters (max. dreimal wöchentlich)

    Wenn Sie einen Wunsch oder ein Problem haben, sprechen Sie mit uns. Wir werden für alles eine gute Lösung finden!

    Nützliche weitere Informationen können Sie hier herunterladen!

  • Parkplatz, Internetzugang und Frühstück inbegriffen (Bed&Breakfast)

    Für eine Person pro Nacht
    € 100.-

    Für zwei Personen pro Nacht
    € 120.-

  • Parkplatz, Internetzugang inbegriffen. Die Suiten verfügen über eine Küche

    Für eine Person pro Nacht
    € 120.-

    Für zwei Personen pro Nacht

    € 140.-

    Frühstück (auf Vorbestellung) € 10.- pro Person

Wir über uns

Wir, Doris Wetter und Mattia Raschèr, haben uns 1990 während eines ersten Besuches im Piemont rettungslos in diesen Teil Italiens verliebt.

2005 brachen wir unsere Schweizer Zelte ab, schlugen die Pflöcke endgültig ins Belpaese und betreuten von da an die Kunden unserer kleinen IT-Firma aus dem Süden. Mit der Renovation und Vermietung von zwei sehr speziellen Ferienwohnungen im Monferrato haben wir uns parallel dazu auf ein aufregendes und spannendes neues Gebiet gewagt.

Mit grosser Lust auf mehr haben wir 2014 – inzwischen Bürger unserer Wahlheimat – unser letztes grosses Projekt angestossen: die Renovation des Gästehauses Arcatella, welches fast pünktlich zu unserer Pensionierung fertig geworden ist!